FINANCE/EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE February 8, 2010

The Finance/Executive Committee of the Grant County Board of Supervisors met on Friday, February 8, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 266 of the Administration Building, Lancaster, WI, pursuant to the adjournment of the January 15, 2010 meeting.

The meeting was called to order by Chair Mark Stead. Members present were John Patcle, Stephen Adrian, Robert Keeney, Hans Kostrau, and Lynn Moris. Eugene Bartels asked to be excused. Therefore a quorum was present.

John Patcle, seconded by Hans Kostrau, moved that the meeting is in compliance with the open meeting law. Motion carried.

Lynn Moris, seconded by Robert Keeney, moved to approve the amended agenda with the deletion of the Treasurer's report as Louise Ketterer was unable to attend the meeting. Motion carried.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Robert Keeney, moved to approve the minutes of the January 15, 2010 meeting. Motion carried.

Zoning Administrator Terry Loeffelholz and Todd Johnson of Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission requested funding for the preparation of an updated Farmland Preservation Plan. The plan would allow participants to claim the higher tax credits available under the new Wisconsin Working Lands Initiative as discussed at the January 19 County Board meeting. Counties may apply for a grant to cover 50% of the cost, but Grant County is not eligible to apply until 2013. Lynn Moris, seconded by Hans Kostrau, moved to recommend to the County Board approval of the request, not to exceed \$58,032.54, from the general fund. Motion carried by majority vote.

Personnel Director Joyce Roling and Clerk of Courts Diane Perkins presented comparative data from other counties for review in establishing the Clerk of Courts' salary for the next 4-year term. Robert Keeney, seconded by Hans Kostrau, moved to recommend the following increases to the Employee Relations Committee:

0% increase in 2011 1% increase in 2012 1% increase in 2013 1% increase in 2014

Motion carried by majority vote.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Stephen Adrian, moved to recommend approval by the County Board of the transfer of \$36,636 from the general fund to pay Unified Community Services for the 2009 Institute Supplement funding as discussed at the January 15 meeting. Motion carried.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Lynn Moris, moved to approve a \$5,000 county credit card for Jeff Anderson, Information Technology Director, as recommended by the Computer Committee. Motion carried.

Jeff Anderson and Nancy Scott discussed the Springbrook software proposal. Jeff is working with Springbrook to ensure connectivity between the various buildings and servers. Jeff indicated a new server would not be needed, the current hardware is sufficient. It was discussed

that May is likely the latest date a decision could be made and still have either the new software or a new AS400 in place by the end of the year.

Nancy Scott reviewed the preliminary 2009 results, pending final reconciliations and audit adjustments.

John Patcle, seconded by Stephen Adrian, moved to adjourn to closed session pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes 19.85(1)(c) for the purpose of performance evaluation. The roll call vote was unanimous.

John Patcle, seconded by Stephen Adrian, moved to return to open session. Motion carried.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Lynn Moris, moved to adjourn to Wednesday, March 10, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. Motion carried.