COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

January 29, 2009

John Patcle called the Committee on Committee meeting to order on Thursday, January 29, 2009 at 1:00 p.m. in Room 266 of the Administration Building, Lancaster, WI. Members present were John Patcle, Robert Keeney, Hans Kostrau, Ivan Farness, Pat Schroeder and Stephen Adrian.

Stephen Adrian made a motion, seconded by Ivan Farness that the meeting was in compliance with open meeting law. Motion carried.

Pat Schroeder, seconded by Bob Keeney, moved to approve the minutes as read. Motion carried.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by John Patcle, moved to approve the agenda as read. Motion carried.

After much discussion, the Committee on Committee made the following motions in conjunction with restructuring the committee:

Steve Adrian, seconded by Ivan Farness, made a motion that (Elected) Ag/Extension – Education Committee/Fair Board be left as one committee with five (5) members serving on the Committee as it currently exists. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Ivan Farness, seconded by Stephen Adrian, made a motion that the (Appointed) Park Committee remains it's own committee and not be changed or combined with any other committee. It shall remain a five (5) member committee. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Pat Schroeder, made a motion to form a five (5) member committee, which will be called (Appointed) Economic Tourism & Resource Committee. This will be made up of the existing Economic Development, Tourism and Resource and Hidden Valley Committees. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Pat Schroeder, seconded by Stephen Adrian, made a motion to combine the existing committee of Public Property and Computer Committee to form the (Appointed) Public Property and Technology Committee with six (6) members. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Robert Keeney, seconded by Pat Schroeder, made a motion to form the (Appointed) Administrative Committee, made up of the existing Employee Relations Committee (ERC) and Finance Committee. The Committee shall be made up with the County Board Chairman, the 1st Vice Chairman, 2nd Vice-Chairman, the Immediate Past County Board Chairman if a continuing Supervisor shall be a member of this committee, and four (4) appointed members. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Ivan Farness, made a motion that the existing committees of DMATS and DMATS – BARG be combined with (Appointed) Law Enforcement and Emergency Management with a seven (7) member committee. The existing committee of D-MATS – HIGHWAY be combined with the (Elected) Highway Committee with five (5) members on the committee. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Hans Kostrau, seconded by Ivan Farness, made a motion that the existing Committee on Committees Committee be renamed the (Elected) Executive Committee and Legislative Committee.

Section A: (Appointed) The Executive Committee and Legislative Committee shall consist of the Chairman, the 1st Vice-Chairman, 2nd Vice Chairman, and four (4) members elected by the Board. The committees shall every two years recommend to the Chairman as to appointment of members to the standing of the Board. The Chairman shall file a list of committee appointments in the office of the County Clerk within a week thereafter and the Clerk shall forthwith mail a copy thereof to each board member.

Section B: Committee Officers, The Chairman of the Board shall be ex-officio, a member of each committee of the Board, and shall call the first meeting of each committee and act as its chairman until a chairman has been selected by the committee. Each committee shall also select a Vice-Chairman and a Secretary, who shall keep the minutes of the committee.

After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Committees that will remain the same, as they exist now are as follows:

- (Appointed) Center on Aging, three County Board members and four citizen members.
- (Appointed) Community Options Program, four County Board members, two citizens members, one member from Social Services Board.
- (Appointed) Health Board, five Board members, three citizen members.
- (Appointed) Land Conservation, seven Board member, FSA Representative and two members from Ag & Extension.
- (Appointed) Library, one member Board.
- (Appointed) Local Emergence Planning, County Board Chairman and one other Board Member.
- (Appointed)Orchard Manor, five Board members.
- (Appointed) Planning and Zoning, seven Board members.
- (Appointed) Strategic Planning, seven Board members.
- (Elected) Social Services, seven Board members.
- (Appointed) Southwestern WI Community Action Program CAP, three Board members.

(Appointed) Unified Community Services, three Grant County Board members, two Iowa County Board Members, four Grant County citizen members, two Iowa County citizen members.
(Appointed) Veterans, two Board member.
(Appointed) WI River Transit – Railroad, three Board members.

Pat Schroeder, seconded by Ivan Farness, made a motion to have Public Property and ERC attend the next Finance meeting and address the Board Compensation. After discussion, motion carried unanimously.

Pat Schroeder, seconded by Ivan Farness moved to adjourn the meeting, motion carried.