Grant County Board of Supervisors
July 19, 2022
Administration Building
111 S. Jefferson Street, Room 264
Lancaster, WI 53813

The Grant County Board of Supervisors meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Robert Keeney. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited. Chairman Keeney asked the County Clerk, Tonya White to verify that the meeting was held in compliance with open meeting law. White verified the meeting was posted at the Grant County Administration Building, Grant County Courthouse and on the county website.

Roll call was taken with thirteen (13) members present in the room: Gary Ranum, Gary Northouse, Robert Scallon, Robert Keeney, Roger Guthrie, Joseph Mumm, Adam Day, Patrick Schroeder, Diane Nelson, Brandon Snyder, Kathy Kopp, John Beinborn and Donald Splinter. Present virtually two (2) members: Elias Cox and Carol Beals (joined at 10:06 a.m.). Porter Wagner and Brian Lucey asked to be excused. Chairman Keeney asked the Board to approve Elias Cox and Carol Beals to participate via Zoom per Board Rules. John Beinborn, second by Brandon Snyder made a motion to allow virtual participates to vote during the meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

Approval of Agenda: Patrick Schroeder, second by Kathy Kopp made a motion to approve the agenda. Motion carried by voice vote.

Approval of Minutes: Roger Guthrie, second by Joseph Mumm made a motion to approve the minutes from the May 17, 2022 meeting. Motion carried by voice vote.

Gary Ranum, second by Donald Splinter made a motion to amend the official minutes of the December 21, 2021 meeting to include, and all real estate closing documents. Motion carried by voice vote.

Presentation and Update from Wisconsin & Southern Railroad – Ken Lucht: Ken Lucht gave a presentation on the railroad in Grant County.

Communications: Chairman Keeney thanked Michels Construction for the equipment and staff to assist with placing the flag on top of the Courthouse.

Chairman Keeney informed the Board that TriCor dropped off a check from West Bend Insurance for a worker's compensation dividend and premium adjustment in the amount of \$97,703.

Chairman Keeney reminded the Board to complete the WCA Conference sheet and submit the form to the County Clerk's Office by the end of the week.

There will be 200 Badger Boxes that will be distributed next Monday morning at the Fairgrounds.

Employee Recognitions: Chairman Keeney recognized Madelyn Foyt for 22 years of service. Chairman Keeney recognized Mary Allen for 25 years of service. Chairman Keeney recognized Philip Muller for 39 years of service.

Appointment(s): Library Planning Board – Brandon Snyder, second by John Beinborn made a motion to appoint Jessie Lee - Jones, Director of Platteville Public Library; Amber Majerus, Director of Cuba City Public Library; Megan Flatley, Director of Hazel Green Public Library; Betty Shambow, Director of Livingston Public Library; Marie McGinnis, Director of Cassville Public Library; Janelle Miller, Director of Boscobel Public Library; Lorna Aigner, Director of Muscoda Public Library; James Hibbard, Grant County resident who works at UW Platteville; Ann Dolan, Grant County resident; Angela Mitchell, Grant County resident and Elias Cox, Grant County Supervisor. Motion carried by voice vote.

Pat Schroeder, second by Roger Guthrie made a motion to reappoint Russ Raeder for a three-year term on the Grant County Board of Adjustment. Motion carried by voice vote.

Grants: Sheriff Dreckman presented the Tribal and Local Law Enforcement Agency Initiative. Gary Northouse, second by Brandon Snyder made a motion to approve the grant. Motion carried by voice vote.

586th **Zoning Amendment:** Justin Johnson, CSZD presented the 586th Zoning Amendment for Matthew Filenius in Town of Lima, Joseph and Antoinette Stoikes in Town of Mount Hope, Dale and Dianne Kovars in Town of Fennimore, Steven and Rebecca Bailie in Town of Ellenboro, Olsen Revocable Trust in Town of Platteville, Hi-View Shorthorns Inc. in Town of South Lancaster, Brian Kieler in Town of Jamestown and Amendment to Chapter 315 Sections 2.05 B & 3.27 (4) (a) of the Grant County Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance. Patrick Schroeder, second by Kathy Kopp made a motion to approve the 586th Zoning Amendment. Motion carried by voice vote.

Discussion and possible action on fiber optic connection to the City of Lancaster for a security camera and other possible services using out of budget ARPA funding: Shane Drinkwater, IT Director presented the request. John Beinborn, second by Brandon Snyder made a motion to approve the out of budget spending using ARPA funding for the fiber optic connection to the City of Lancaster City Hall. A roll call vote was taken with fifteen (15) Yes and two (2) Excused, therefore motion passed.

Revision to Investments Policy: Carrie Eastlick, Grant County Treasurer presented the revised Investment Policy. Roger Guthrie, second by Joseph Mumm made a motion to approve the revised Investments Policy. Motion passed by voice vote.

Resolution Regarding Mileage Reimbursement: Chairman Keeney presented the resolution regarding mileage reimbursement. Roger Guthrie, second by Gary Ranum made a motion to approve the resolution. Motion carried by voice vote.

Resolution Establishing the Opioid Settlement Task Force: Chairman Keeney presented the resolution to establish the Opioid Settlement Task Force. Brandon Snyder, second by John Beinborn made a motion to approve the resolution. Motion carried by voice vote.

Action on appointment to Opioid Settlement Task Force: Chairman Keeney presented the nine names of the individuals to appoint to the Opioid Settlement Task Force. Patrick Schroeder, second by Robert Scallon made a motion to approve Sheriff Dreckman or his designee, Jeff Lockhart, Gary Ranum, Carol Beals, Michelle Farrell, James Boebel, Jeff Kindrai, Pastor Mark Hoehne and Megan Wolf. Motion carried by voice vote.

Draft MOU with City of Lancaster regarding water line: Adam Day, second by Brandon Snyder made a motion to approve the MOU with the City of Lancaster. Motion carried by voice vote.

Transmission Line Easement for Cardinal-Hickory Creek line: Gary Northouse, second by Donald Splinter made a motion to approve the easement for the Cardinal-Hickory Creek line. A roll call vote was taken with fifteen (15) Yes, two (2) Excused, therefore motion carried.

Discussion and Possible Action as it relates to ATV/UTV State and Federal Highway Usage in Grant County: Gary Northouse, second by John Beinborn made a motion to support the action to move forward with the application for permitting of 21 locations throughout Grant County using State and Federal Highways. Motion carried by voice vote.

Dog Claim(s) Grant County Humane Society: Patrick Schroeder, second by Joesph Mumm made a motion to pay Grant County Humane Society \$1600. Motion carried by voice vote.

Committee Reports: Administrative Committee – Patrick Schroeder gave a report.

Ag and Extension – Patrick Schroeder gave a report.

ADRC - Nothing to report.

Board of Health – Diane Nelson gave a report.

Conservation, Sanitation and Zoning – Gary Northouse gave a report.

CJCC - Nothing to report.

Economic, Tourism and Resource – John Beinborn gave a report.

Executive – Gary Ranum gave a report.

Hidden Valley – Robert Scallon gave a report.

Highway – Donald Splinter gave a report.

Land Information Council – Chairman Keeney gave a report.

Library – Elias Cox gave a report.

Law Enforcement/Emergency Management – Adam Day gave a report.

Orchard Manor/Farm Committee – Elias Cox gave a report.

Social Services – Donald Splinter gave a report.

SWCAP – Carol Beals gave a report.

Unified Community Services – Gary Ranum gave a report.

Veterans – Gary Ranum gave a report.

WI River Rail Transit Commission – Nothing to report.

Adjournment: Roger Guthrie, second by Robert Scallon made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:31 a.m. pursuant to the next meeting on August 16, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.