GRANT COUNTY QUARTERLY TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION MEETING August 17, 2016 Conference Room, Grant County Law Enforcement Center Lancaster, WI 53813

The regular quarterly Grant County Traffic Safety Commission Meeting was called to order by Captain Tony Sheckles at 1:00 p.m. The following Traffic Safety Commission members and guests present:

Nate Dreckman	Grant County Sheriff
Jack Johnson	Grant County Chief Deputy
Sgt. Brian Bierman	Grant County Sheriff's Office
Justin McLimans	Lancaster PD
Justin Bristol	Lancaster PD
Jeff Haas	Platteville PD
Jamie Kreul	, ,
Brad Byom	Wisconsin DOT
Dave Lambert	Grant County Highway Department
Bob Keeney	County Board Chairman
Joe Schneider	WI DOT
Judy Hazen	Ridge Runners of Grant County
Mick Whitaker	River Lane Riders ATV
John Hauth	City of Lancaster

Confirmation of Open Meeting Law: The agenda was posted in the lobby at the Sheriff's Office and at the County Clerk's Office. The agenda will also be posted on the Grant County website for future meetings.

Adoption of Agenda: The agenda was approved in motions by Bob and second by Brian. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved in motions by Dave and second by Bob. Motions carried.

New Business: Dave Lambert notified the committee of a speed limit request on County Trunk Hwy Z around Sinsinawa Mound. The speed limit was lowered to 35 mph from 55 mph all the way down to ZZ to the windmill with no blades. This may be re-evaluated in the future.

Old Business: There is no Old Business to discuss at this time.

Citizen Complaints: There are no citizen complaints to discuss at this time.

The county statistics were passed out and discussed. There have been 8 fatal crashes this year with 11 victims. The most recent fatal accident was at the intersection of Hwy 129 and Cty A.

The Highway Department will be installing rumble strips on Cty A. The WI DOT will look at options for Hwy 129 as soon as possible.

The Transportation Safety Report was discussed. Multiple death crashes are up with seatbelt usage being down. Grant County is not eligible for any grant money for 2017.

The 2016 Governor's Conference on Highway Safety will be held next week in Green Bay.

ATV/UTV Requests: The ATV/UTV clubs are forming an alliance with the support of County Board Chairman Bob Keeney and Highway Commissioner Dave Lambert. Dave Lambert discussed a couple of changes in the ordinances that involve signing and speed limit posting.

It was motioned by Bob and seconded by Nate to recommend approval for the route on Rattlesnake Road to Shortcut Road including Elmdale Road to Cty N in the Village of Beetown. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Tony and seconded by Brian to recommend approval for a small portion of Cty A down to Canal Street to the Village Park in Bloomington. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Bob and seconded by Jeff to recommend approval for Borah Road down to Ihm Street. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Nate and seconded by Bob to recommend approval for a short portion on Cty B from Stumptown Road to Whig Road. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Bob and seconded by Brian to recommend approval for another portion on Cty B from Moundview Road to the Lafayette County line. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Dave and seconded by Jeff to deny the request on Cty D from Southwest Road to Chestnut Road into the City of Platteville. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Bob and seconded by Dave to recommend approval for the route on Cty O from Hwy 61 to Rockville Road. Motion carried.

It was motioned by Dave and seconded by Bob to recommend approval for the route on Hurricane Road to County N and Pigeon River. Motion carried.

County Board Chairman Bob Keeney mentioned access changes to Hwy 61 if Grant County decides to move forward with the new building project. Joe Schneider from WI DOT will talk to the access crew before the November meeting.

Tom Kretchman resigned as a citizen member for the Highway Safety Committee. Judy Hazen volunteered to fill the position. This will be on the County Board Agenda for approval.

Other Business: No Other Business to discuss at this time.

The next meeting date will be on Wednesday, November 16 at 1:00 p.m.

It was motioned by Brian and seconded by Jeff to adjourn at 2:40 p.m. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Anthony Sheckles Grant County Highway Safety Coordinator