GRANT COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

APRIL 23, 2012

The Grant County Board of Supervisors met on Tuesday, April 23, 2012 at 6:00 p.m. in Room 264 of the Administration Building, Second Floor in Lancaster, WI pursuant to the adjournment of the April 17, 2012 meeting.

Chair Larry Wolf called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Verification of compliance with the open meeting law was a notice in the Herald Independent stating the date, time and place of the County Board Meeting and posted in two public posting locations and the county website verified by Linda K. Gebhard, County Clerk.

INSERT #1: ROLL CALL, April 23, 2012

		Present	Absent	Excused
1.	Carol Beals	х		
2.	John Beinborn	Х		
3.	Ivan Farness	Х		
4.	Roger Guthrie	Х		
5.	Dale Hood	Х		
6.	Lester Jantzen	Х		
7.	Robert Keeney	Х		
8.	Vern Lewison	Х		
9.	Vincent Loeffelholz	Х		
10	. Grant Loy	Х		
	. Dwight Nelson	Х		
12	. John Patcle	Х		
13	. Robert Scallon	Х		
14	. Patrick Schroeder		Х	
15	. Donald Splinter	Х		
	. Mark Stead	Х		
17	. Larry Wolf	Х		

The Clerk took the roll call resulting in 16 present, 1 absent. Therefore a quorum was present.

Vern Lewison, seconded by Ivan Farness, made a motion to approve the amended agenda. Motion carried.

<u>Communications</u>: Larry Wolf, Chair informed the Board that there was informational material from the Department of Administration-Division of Housing (DOH) regarding the CDBG Housing Funds. DOH is asking non-entitlement counties to form 6-8 regional consortiums across the State. Larry asked that all the board members read through the material so they can discuss and make a decision regarding this issue at the May 15, 2012 County Board of Supervisor meeting.

<u>Approval of Appointed Members to Committees</u>: There was discussion on decreasing the size of the Extension/Fair committee from 6 members to 5. Todd Infield, Corporation Counsel instructed the Board that this could be done at this time but would not go into effect until the following term because the 2012 – 2014 Committees have been formed already. No Board Members were interested in resigning any of their committee assignments at this time. John Beinborn, seconded by Robert Scallon made a motion that the Board would take no action at this time; but re-visit this issue at a later time. Motion carried.

Don Splinter, seconded by Vince Loeffelholz made a motion to approve all the committee assignments for the Grant County Board of Supervisors. Motion carried.

<u>Election of Committee Officers</u>: Discussion took place as to the method of electing the Committee Officers as done in the past. Todd Infield, Corporation Counsel, stated that he would like to see the process changed for the election of the committee officers for the new term of 2012-2014. He felt that when each committee meets for the first time in this new term, the Committee Officers should be elected. If the committee is due to meet and there is no time to change the agenda, Larry Wolf, County Board Chair will open the meetings and then the election of officers can take place. Carol Beals started to make a motion on the advice of Corporation Counsel to accept this method of voting for the Committee Officers for future years. Todd Infield stated that a motion would not be needed, Carol Beals rescinded her motion.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Roger Guthrie, seconded by Dwight Nelson, made a motion to adjourn the meeting pursuant to the next meeting of May 15, 2012 at 6:00 p.m. Motion carried.