GRANT COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING MINUTES OF THE JANUARY 20, 2011 MEETING

The County Planning & Zoning meeting was called to order on January 20, 2011 at 9:00 a.m. by Chairman Lester Jantzen in the County Conference Room (#266) of the Administration Building, 111 S. Jefferson St, Lancaster.

Planning & Zoning Board member present Lester Jantzen, Steve Adrian, Pat Schroeder, Dwight Nelson, John Beinborn, Bob Keeney and John Patcle.

John Beinborn made a motion that the meeting is in compliance with the open meeting law, seconded by Steve Adrian. Motion carried.

Dwight Nelson made a motion to approve the agenda seconded by Pat Schroeder. Motion carried.

John Beinborn made a motion to approve the minutes from December 16, 2010 meeting, seconded by Bob Kenney. Motion carried.

.....

Public hearing was convened (Ch. 59.69-5e) to hear the request of Stephen & Susan Pluemer to rezone 2+-ac. from Exclusive Agriculture EAZ to Agriculture A-2. The land is located in SE ¼ of SW ¼ in Section36 T3N R3W of Potosi Township.

Appearance in Favor: Township approved on December 6, 2010

Appearance in Opposition: none

Appearance in Interest: Terry Loeffelholz, Grant County Administrator.

Steve Adrian made a motion to close the hearing, seconded by Pat Schroeder. Motion carried.

Pat Schroeder made a motion to send it to the Grant County Board for approval, in reference to Sec.3.045 (5) page 16 of the Grant County Zoning Ordinance. That the Committee finds that there are adequate facilities to accommodate development, that provision of public facilities will not place an unreasonable burden on local government to provide them, and that the land proposed for rezoning is suitable for development and development will not result in undue water or air pollution, cause unreasonable soil erosion or have an unreasonable adverse effect on natural area, seconded by Steve Adrian, Motion carried.

Unclassified Land Use Review:

There was a complaint that the Baker Quarry in Harrison Township was being used. Terry informed Rural Construction that they need a Non-Metallic mining Reclamation Plan. At this time they have paid the fee for the permit.

Ron Harvey has brought in a Reclamation Plan for the Wachter & Winkers Quarry's. At this time the fee has not been paid.

Pace Program:

Abby Church from the Mississippi Valley Conservancy spoke on the PACE program thru the State. This program would allow the home owner to have the Mississippi Valley conservancy to apply to the State for development rights purchase this land would be preserve as farm land and no development on this property could be done in the future. She is here to ask the Zoning board for approval for property in Paris and Potosi Township to be in this program. Pat Schroeder recommend approval if the Paris and Potosi townships approve this at the township level and the Zoning has a copy of the minutes on file, seconded by John Beinborn. Motion carried.

Conditional Use Permit:

Land Use Plan:

Terry reported that the County Farmland Preservation maps have been sent to the State for approval. After the State approves the maps the County Zoning Ordinance will be revised.

Sanitary Permit Summary:

Steve Adrian made a motion to approve the Sanitary Permit summary, seconded by Dwight Nelson. Motion carried.

Outstanding Order/Compliance:

Steve Adrian made a motion to approve the Outstanding Order, seconded by Bob Keeney. Motion carried.

Bills & Vouchers:

John Beinborn made a motion to approve the bills & vouchers, seconded by Pat Schroeder. Motion carried.

Annual Report:

Dwight Nelson made a motion to approve the Annual Report, seconded by Bob Kenney. Motion carried.

Sanitation office is asking for 2 filing cabinets that are needed for the new files for septic replacements. Pat Schroeder made a motion to approve of 2 five-drawer filing cabinets, and recommend that Terry go to the Public Property to purchase them for the Sanitation office, seconded by Dwight Nelson.

Bob Kenney made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Dwight Nelson. Motion carried. Next meeting is February 17, 2011, at 9:00 a.m. in the County Board room.

John Beinborn, Secretary