Wisconsin child passenger safety

Type of seat	Safest practice	Wisconsin law
Rear-facing Car Seat	Children should ride in a rear- facing car seat until at least the age of 2. Keep children rear facing as long as they are within the height and weight requirements for the car seat.	Children must ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are 1 year old and weigh 20 pounds.
Forward-facing Car Seat	Children should ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness as long as they are within the height and weight requirements for the car seat.	Children must ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness until they are 4 years old and weigh 40 pounds.
Booster Seat	Children should ride in a booster seat until they are tall enough to sit on the vehicle seat without slouching, and the seat belt fits snugly across the top of the thighs and across the shoulder.	Children must ride in a booster seat until they are 8 years old or weigh 80 pounds or are 4 feet 9 inches tall (4'9").
Seat Belt	Children should ride using a lap and shoulder belt once they have outgrown their car or booster seat.	Children must be restrained in a seat belt when they outgrow the requirements of a booster seat.
Back Seat	Children under 13 years of age should ride in the back seat using a lap and shoulder belt.	Children required to ride in a rear-facing or forward-facing car seat must be restrained in the back seat.









Safety Tips:

- Choose a car seat based on your child's height, weight and age.
- Read all instructions to correctly install and use the car seat.
- Check the expiration date and know the history of your car seat before you use it.
- Use a car seat correctly on every ride.
- Children are more likely to buckle up if they see a parent or caregiver buckled up.
- Let others who drive your kids know that a car seat is a must.

For information on where to get your car seat inspected, visit safekidswi.org/events.

Carseatwi@chw.org (855) 224-3692







